How to become certified in PRINCE2

There are several ways to achieve your goal of PRINCE2 certification and choosing the right one depends on your preferred learning preference, personal goals and prior knowledge. Here’s the full list of PRINCE2 certifications and some of the most commonly asked questions about PRINCE2 qualifications and exams.

What are the PRINCE2 certifications?

PRINCE2® Foundation

The Foundation level is the first step to getting a PRINCE2 qualification and is the logical first step for anyone who has no prior knowledge of PRINCE2 or project management qualifications. There are no pre-requisites for taking this courseThis level is suitable for all levels of professionals and will focus on the theoretical knowledge of how to plan, manage and deliver projects. The foundation certificate is a prerequisite for the Practitioner certification.

PRINCE2® Practitioner

The practitioner level extends on the knowledge from the foundation level and focuses on applying and tailoring the PRINCE2 method to a range of different project environments and scenarios. You will need to make sure you have one of the listed prerequisites before attempting this level.

PRINCE2 Agile® (Foundation and Practitioner)

The PRINCE2 Agile method provides the knowledge needed to be able to blend agile ways of working within the defined governance structure of PRINCE2. The foundation level provides the fundamentals to help deliver agile projects by tailoring PRINCE2 management controls with a broad toolset of agile delivery techniques and frameworks, including SCRUM, Kanban and Lean Start-Up.

The Practitioner level extends the foundation knowledge and applies it to the workplace. you must hold PRINCE2 Agile Foundation or any PRINCE2 certification before attempting this level.


PRINCE2 exams explained

PRINCE2 7 Foundation exam

  • Multiple choice questions
  • 60 questions per paper
  • 36 marks required (out of 60 available) to pass: 60%
  • One hour's (60 minutes) duration
  • Closed book
  • No prerequisites 

PRINCE2 7 Practitioner exam

  • Scenario based.
  • Objective testing
  • 70 questions per paper
  • 42 marks or more required to pass (out of 70 available): 60%
  • Two-and-a-half hours’ (150 minutes) duration, no additional reading time
  • Open book. Candidates are permitted to use the official printed hard copy of the PRINCE2 7 Managing Successful Projects. The official manual may be annotated and tabulated but no sticky notes and loose-leaf papers containing additional notes will be allowed.
  • Must have a valid prerequisite

PRINCE2 Agile® Foundation

  • Objective testing
  • One hour multiple choice paper
  • 50 questions with a pass mark of 55%
  • Closed book
  • No prerequisites

PRINCE2 Agile® Practitioner

  • Objective testing
  • 50 questions each worth one mark
  • 30 marks or more required to pass out of 50 questions: 60% pass mark
  • Two-and-a-half hours’ (150 minutes) duration, no additional reading time
  • Open book exam. Candidates may use the official printed hard copy of the PRINCE2 Agile Guidance. The manual may be annotated and tabulated but no sticky notes and loose-leaf papers containing additional notes will be allowed.
  • Must have a valid prerequisite

Book PRINCE2 7 Certifications

More about PRINCE2 Certifications

Why become PRINCE2® certified?

There are many types of project management certification and managerial qualifications that exist, PRINCE2 is however the most universally recognized option.

Used globally, PRINCE2 provides 7 easy to understand processes which are not present in other project management qualifications and are invaluable for those who are new to profession. 

For experienced project managers PRINCE2 gives  the confidence that you are following best practice. Many companies require you to hold a PRINCE2 certificate for managerial positions, obtaining the certification could lead to job opportunities and career progression.

How long do PRINCE2 certifications last?

All (Foundation and Practitioner) PeopleCert Global Best Practice certifications will need to be renewed after 3 years.

How do I renew a PRINCE2 certification?

There are three options available for you to keep your qualifications up to date:

  1. Retake the same exam.
  2. Take an exam in same product suite.
  3. Collecting and logging CPD points via the MyAxelos platform.

Click here for more information.

Who can take a PRINCE2 certification?

Anyone can take a PRINCE2 certification if they have the required prerequisites. This is typically:

  • Project Managers (certified and uncertified)
  • Aspiring Project Managers
  • For anyone aiming to enhance their project management skills

What is a PRINCE2 certification equivalent to?

PRINCE2 qualifications are widely recognised and respected in the project management field. They are considered equivalent to other well-known project management certifications like the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification from the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) certification for agile project management. PRINCE2 qualifications demonstrate your ability to manage projects effectively and can be a valuable addition to your professional portfolio, irrespective of your industry or sector.

Are QA an accredited provider of PRINCE2?

We are fully accredited by PeopleCert on behalf of Axelos.

Who are QA’s PRINCE2 trainers?

QA’s Project Management portfolio is led by Dr Ian Clarkson, a highly experienced consultant, author, trainer and speaker with over 20 years’ experience in project management, organisational change and learning.

Contact us for more information

Call us on 01753 898 765 or fill in the form below: